Wooden Crate Gets a Makeover

DSC_0216

Keeping all things bright and funky  rolling from my last post which you can see here  i wanted this project to be all about color aswell. And i came across the perfect design for my wooden crates which was Kandinsky’s Art.

lgra078+squares-with-concentric-rings-farbstudie-1913-wassily-kandinsky-art-printNow that just screams color in every way possible i was SOLD. I honestly think Kandinsky and I were kindred spirits because i just realized i have an artwork just like his Squares with Concentric Circles behold my take on his masterpiece.

ombre pillowf

You see the resemblance i clearly do ;). And i did that wall art like 7 to 8 years ago so maybe we are related or maybe I’m just delusional either way sometimes its fine to associate yourself with an artist it helps in the process ;).Well my take was basically using coloured buttons and cutting up coloured paper and pasting it on a blank canvas.

The above picture is of the Ombre Herringbone Cushions that i made recently which you can see here.

Moving on to my creation enough of Kandinsky for now.

DSC_0171So i had saved these wooden crates for a while now. That’s the problem with being obsessed with DIY you never throw away anything ever because maybe just maybe you might need it for something and with that mindset i had saved up three wooden crates knowing that one day the time will come when i shall actually use them besides letting it sit and gather dust in the store.

DSC_0170I like the imperfections of these wooden crates. The rustic feel to it adds a nice element and knowing me i always like things to be not so perfect. So the first thing i did was painted the inside of the box in the color Apple Green.

DSC_0175That took care of all the discolourations and gave a nice pop of color. Already things started coming together with the first coat of Green.

DSC_0172My plan for these crates is to use them as wall installation which you will see in later posts. I have my mind set on using this in the room in the basement . Will hang it up on the wall so i can add in decoration pieces etc in it.

So basically the next step is the most fun part of the whole process.

DSC_0176Start painting circles however you want and in whatever color you want. It doesn’t have to be perfect at all just keep going on with whatever you have in mind.To make things easier use multiple brushes for all the different color because you will need to use alot of them again and again so no point in cleaning them.

DSC_0177I split the box in such a way that both the sides had 6 circles. When the circles are done fill in the squares and there you have it your Kandinsky inspired Wooden Crate Makeover is Done.

DSC_0214I mean how cute and fun are these. I have two more crates to paint before i install them up on the wall. I honestly cannot wait.

DSC_0210

The brighter you go with the colors the more fun the final results will turn out to be plus i just wanted a reason to use Hot Pink again so you know 😉

Maybe for the other two wooden crates i might go a geometrical route but keeping the same colors or most probably will end up with these circles again.

DSC_0221

Who knows will update you guys as soon as I’m Done 🙂

DSC_0198

DSC_0218

Linking to

The Pin Junkie, Create It Thursday, Someday Crafts, What to do Weekends, Crafty Thursday Obsessions, Frugal Friday, SNAPSparkles & A StoveSimply Create ThursdaysThink Tank ThursdayThrifty ThursdayA Creative Princess, The Creative Connection, A Glimpse InsideKatherines CornerFlaunt It Friday, The Inspiration Gallery, Link Party Palooza, Dear Creatives and all the other blogs i link to you can see here

8 thoughts on “Wooden Crate Gets a Makeover

  1. I am thinking Kandiski’s art would look very good in my house too! So happy and cheerful!!!
    Perfect for spring. I hope you enjoy your boxes….. Are you using them to store something fun like fabric of craft supplies?
    🙂 Have a happy week!!
    “hugs” Crystelle
    Crystelle Boutique

  2. It definitely will. Everyone should have a little Kandinsky in their life so bright and cheerful :). I’m going to install these boxes up on the wall and put decoration pieces in it initially I did thought of storing fabric but then I had these bare walls in my basement so I thought I should hang them up. Will post up pictures as soon as they are up on the wall 🙂

  3. Congratulations! This post will be featured over at Diana Rambles tomorrow and has been pinned in the Featured at Diana Rambles board at Pinterest, Tweeted, and Recommended on G+. Please grab a featured button off my sidebar or via the link under the features. Thanks for sharing this awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

